Prelude to the Giving of Thanks

When I was in High School, my sister Lindsay was in Junior High. This meant, of course, that we were a part of two different worlds, all encompassed under one roof. One such division was the name of our singing groups. Just a small preface: I have to say that there are a multitude of awesome choir names in the vast realm of musical terminology.

I tried out for Concert Choir (everyone with a genuine desire to be there was welcome), Encore (smaller ensemble…a little more difficult to be in) and A ccaprecio (it means “as you like it”. And many people liked trying out for it as it was the elite 8 person singing group few made it into). All of that to say, my sister Lindsay tried out and made it into Prelude and sang her little heart out. All of this is neither here nor there, it’s just that my title reminded me of it.

Ahem…but back to the original reason for this post. With all the helter skelter of the last week, I haven’t really taken time to slow down. I actually think I have two speeds…fast and super fast. This is much like super bad, but without the bad part. My former roommate Holly, however, always puts me to shame in this department. Her speedometer of life tops out at turbo fast. But I digress.

My point is that it’s hard to live life purposefully. I have no trouble walking to my car purposefully (except when I am in heels), but going through my daily routine with a bigger perspective and a “zoom out” lens over my day is not something that usually happens. Judge me if you will, but I have a feeling that I’m not alone.

I think, then, it is only appropriate to use the Thanksgiving Holiday as a pause button and to really take the time to think about what I am thankful for. First and foremost, I’m thankful for my salvation and the fact that God continues to stick with me throughout all my screw-ups. But here’s a few other things that I’m grateful for…

1. No one can push my buttons like my family…but I know that no matter what comes up they have my back. I’m thankful for them.

2. I’m thankful that my sister Lindsay and I have such a good relationship now. There were some touch and go situations when we both lived at home, but growing up has matured us both and I love our friendship.

3. No way when I moved to Colorado did I imagine that I would get a fabulous roommate (not the freaky variety that tended to pop up in my other CA situations….you know, the kind that gypped me on rent, etc.) I’m thankful for Anne…if for no other reason than she laughs at my jokes and is a constant presence urging me to drink more water.

4. Going to work each day is fun! I don’t deserve the job the Lord orchestrated for me, but I’m so incredibly thankful for it. What a picture of grace! AND it came built in with extra cool friends on the side. 🙂

5. Friendship is freaky. It’s hard to navigate the choppy waters of a friendship and keep your bearings in a swirl of emotion. They can be the mark of the best of times or the curse of the worst of times…I have a handful of people in my life that I feel I can be myself with and there is that rare give and take that is sometimes lacking. I don’t know what I would do without them…they are a lifeline. I’m thankful for them.

6. I heart my church. I love the feeling of family and learning from those around me. And let’s just be honest about it…I DIG the floral arrangements at the front of the sanctuary. In all seriousness, though, I’m thankful for my church and the pastors that lead it.

7. Rejoining the world of books has been awesome and it made me appreciate those people that take the time to write from a different perspective than my life (not really that hard to do :)) and suck me in. All the midnight and one a.m. sessions to get through a book have been worth it. So has the coffee…

8. Last and least (at least for this time and place) I’m thankful for the seasons and the Yankee candles that maximize my enjoyment of them.

So that’s my list for now…next week is going to be fast and furious with the forecast showing a strong likelihood for snow. Ah, well…the dry roads were bound to be gone eventually. Here’s to a season of staying on all 4 wheels and AWAY from the evilness that is black ice. Drive safe out there, Coloradans! My life depends on it…

Leave a Reply

