In the Words of My Mother…

…Yikes-a-mola!

Why is the best time to blog always in the middle of the night? Okay, well maybe not the MIDDLE of the night, but darn near close enough. Oh, right! I think it’s because I have a day job. Whoa, I hadn’t thought of this, but how AWESOME would it be to be a professional blogger? Ah, well, a girl can dream, right?

In any case, the real reason for this post is to describe to you the pitfalls of my new job in publishing. Are you ready? Here they come:

1. Being surrounded by people that love to read as much (and more) than myself is definitely exposing my inner nerd more than has previously been seen. Squeals erupted from my face when I was told that one of my favorite authors, Robin Jones Gunn, is continuing with another spin-off series from The Christy Miller series. It’s the Katie Weldon series. Best of all? My co-worker was right there with me in the enthusiasm department. Scary, isn’t it? It’s like working with MOVIE STARS, people! We might even start a book club and read the books together. (oh the horrors!) The little girl that would rather read and eat her lunch in elementary school than to EVER strike up a conversation with a living breathing person is back and better than ever.

2. Being ensconced with bookshelves on every side in my new place of work distracts me and I end up wandering the halls aimlessly (ha!) looking at book spine after book spine trying to see with glazed over eyes if there is anything new on the shelf that I can pilfer for myself. And by pilfer, I mean gain access to legally…

3. Being handed stacks of books to take home and read for my very own self is reminding me how much I missed the wonderful wide world of fiction up until this point. All of the frenzied “college skimming” of books severely dulled my book appetite. Well, no more! Now, I can see a whole new horizon that includes me spending half of my paycheck on rent and the other half on books. Because, you see, I won’t be able to just read the ones I get for free…Oh, no, that would be too EASY! So if you see me meandering through the streets disheveled and looking for food, oblige me, won’t you? It’s all in the name of suffering for my craft.

4. Working with people my own age makes me want to hang out with them outside of work. Case in point – ice skating with a co-worker today. While I enjoyed it immensely, my ankles hate me tonight. All because of a poor sock choice. Sheesh. Well, at least I have a plan for next time. Provided there IS a next time…After all, my skating partner wisely packed the correct socks for such an excursion and therefore was held back by my stupidity.

5. Having a good communicator for a boss has spoiled me such that I will never be able to move on from this position and will rot in my current assistant office chair. I just KNOW there cannot be a better situation out there. Try and contradict me if you must…

6. Working with author/celebrities has ruined me on normal people. Now, in any conversation with me, you must use correct grammar (which I can’t even always do :)) and speak publisher-ese in order to get an audience with me. Because I know you are all out there clamoring for an audience with the Amazon Queen.*

That’s all I’ve got for now. Sorry it’s been a while since my last post…I’ve had lots to say rolling inside my brain, but scant time and creative energy to actually follow through. Speaking of my brain, I think it’s found the off switch, so I’m off (ha!) to bed. Talk at you soon!

*Amazon Queen is not a title highlighting my massive height or mad skills with a machete in the middle of the rain forest. It is a title given to me by my co-worker Allison, who has put me in charge of all items having to do with amazon.com. Trust me, I’m going to need a crown and scepter when all this is through. I wonder if I can write that into the benefits for next year??

One thought on “In the Words of My Mother…

  1. christi says:

    I LOVED LOVED LOVED the Christy Miller series when I was just a young lad. My friends and I would talk about the books and just dream of a “God thing” moment and a man like Todd. Sigh. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

