Back to the grind…

Well, after the last three nights I’ve had, it will be difficult going back to normal existance. However, on the upside, the nights following these will probably result in more sleep. πŸ™‚

Tuesday and Wednesday night were a frantic race against the clock (and my sleepy eyes) to finish “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows”. This was sooo the best fiction book I’ve ever read. I know it came out about a month ago, but I’ve been on a mission. First, I read “Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix” before I saw the movie to make sure I was making the most of the experience. πŸ™‚ (Oh, yes, I’m one of THOSE). I think it may have backfired on me, though, because the whole movie I was reverting in my mind to the printed pages and comparing and contrasting – quite a mental excersize when the book is 870 pages! I may have to see it again to really enjoy it…

Then, I read the NEXT book “Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince” so that I would remember everything that I skimmed college-style when the book first came out. What can I say, I was desperate to get to the end!

THEN, I was able to dive into “The Deathly Hallows” with an armory of useful details henceforth ingrained in my memory…it was worth it.

Now, it may seem like a lot of effort, but it’s that feeling that something you love is ending. Ever since my childhood, my books have been the best friends I’ve known…sounds cheesy, but it is just the facts. When you move a lot, pen pals will only take you so far πŸ™‚ Harry Potter is over, but at least I had the crowning acheivement of sucking dry the experience, eh?

Tonight, I saw the much-anticipated movie “The Bourne Ultimatum”. Really good movie and worth the money if you liked the other two…it’s the best movie I’ve seen in a long time – starts out with adreneline and doesn’t let up until the end credits.

I think, now, my life is like the 4th Mission Impossible movie. Okay, so maybe you can’t draw a LOT of parallels, as I don’t really bear a resemblence to Tom Cruise and have never in my life done my own stunts…But go with me here – in concept, it’s the mentality that the first movie was so good, you have to make the next one bigger and better to keep the attention of the audience. Pretty soon, stuff will be blowing up non-stop throughout the movie and every character will be wearing a “mask” of another and tearing it off at the height of some intense movie music.

I’m going to have to transition back to every day life and I think my first stop will be cleaning my room. Nothing will bring me back to reality and ground me as much as that, eh?

Leave a Reply

