Going Green…

Not to re-visit the ugly past, but remember my first post complete with pictures of my poor little car that got rolled over on my way to Colorado? Well, as you probably know from the subsequent posts I got a new car…another Saturn Ion in the green color. I’m not as crazy about the green as I was the silver-blue, but it was on sale and green is better than some other colors so I felt that I did well (as far as I know, they don’t make a pink Saturn Ion yet, so I was out of luck).

With said new car and the help of a stellar Uncle, I am fully equipped with all the new upgrades including satellite radio (which has since been discontinued as I could not in good conscience spend $20 a month for music that I can listen to for free on the real radio), a place to plug in my iPod mini and OnStar.

Now, don’t get me wrong…I fully appreciate all of these things. But (and I’m really not high maintainence, I promise!) I miss one teensy tiny little feature of my old car. This is the CD “repeat” button. I love that little button with all my heart. It helps me to milk my favorite-song-of-the-moment for all it’s worth.

Here’s the way my music process happens. I hear a song on the radio, in a store, etc. I search it out, download it and play it over and over and over until I know all the lyrics and the harmony parts (what?? background vocalists are people too!). Then I get tired of it and move on to the next song that gets blessed by my interest. Several weeks, months or years later I hear said song that I used to love to pieces on a mix CD and I think to myself “That song sounds sooo familiar! I like it a lot…” and then I revive my interest again.

Without the key “repeat” button in this process, I feel a bit lost. I have taken to manually rewinding the song…which I suppose is fine and probably strengthens my finger muscles or something. However, I can’t help but think that newer isn’t ALWAYS better. There are lots of things that endure time because they are classic.

Saturn would do well to heed my advice. I’m just sayin’.

Song recycling. That’s green, right? Just doing my part to help the environment.

Leave a Reply

