What do you want to do tonight, Pinky?

There are few games in the world (in the WORLD, people) that I love more than Settler’s of Catan. I have noticed a few things surrounding this game:

1. Whereever I go, there seems to be an underground Settler’s group. Nothing unites a group faster than asking “Hey, have you ever heard of the game…”. Faces light up, everyone begins to speak at once and a time to play together is quickly scheduled. In fact, this was one of the first questions that I asked the College/Career group when I moved…

2. Everyone that plays the game for the first time initially dislikes it. This is because there are several moving parts that are hard to keep track of. However, once you have it that’s one of the charms of the game and what makes it endure through time (I’m SO dramatic today)

3. People either love or hate this game. I’ve never heard anyone say “Oh, Settler’s? Yeah, I’ve played several times and it’s okay.” Usually it’s either “I’d rather endure chinese torture than play that game!” or “Want to play at your place or mine?”

Major props should go out at this time to the Spangler’s, who not only taught me the game, but also gave me the “Cities and Knights” expansion game for Christmas last year. It took me a while to win (Greg is a gamer!) but once I did, there was no stopping me.

When I moved to Colorado, I found some people that played the game. Those that I met that didn’t play, I started to teach them. We are now in the phases of working up to Settler’s: Cities and Knights”.

Now, because this post makes me sound somewhat of a freak to those of you that don’t know what the heck I’m talking about, I must say that I don’t get to play very often. But if I’m given the choice of volleyball or board/card games, I’ll pick games every time. This just happens to be my favorite game in that genre. πŸ™‚

Oh, and to finish it up – “Same thing we do every night, Brain. Try to take over the world!”

2 thoughts on “What do you want to do tonight, Pinky?

  1. Megan says:

    I recently went through a similar experience here in Texas…finding an underground group of Settlers lovers is an important step to our settling in here in Dallas

Leave a Reply

